Offering translated copies of one’s work?

Just a random image to have something other than text to look at on this post.

Just a random image I made to have something other than text to look at on this post. 🙂

I just had an interesting idea. I wonder if I translated my written narrative works into Japanese, would they sell much in that market?

I’ve worked with many Japanese people in teaching them English, so I have some idea of their interest in things Western (as in American/European, not necessarily John Wayne). It’s been a while since I’ve done any tutoring, however. In any case, it might be a fun exercise.

When I was active in my Japanese adventuring, I translated over 100 songs from Japanese to English, and did a few English to Japanese here and there. It was fun but I got a bit tired of all the grammar discussions. This became especially tedious with the abbreviated form that songs often take. Not something you might think about until you actually try to translate the thing.

Well, now that I’ve brought it up, here’s a sample of one of my translated songs from many moons ago:

Artist: Utada Hikaru
Title: Addicted to You

There isn’t really a need to see you,
別に会う必要なんて無い

Because there’s a lot I have to do.
しなきゃ いけない こと 沢山 あるし

There isn’t really any need to talk every day.
毎日話す必要なんて無い

It’s annoying that the telephone rates are increasing.
電話 代【だい】かさんで 迷惑してるんだ

There is no such thing as an unchanging love,
変わらない愛情なんて無い

Because I have worries I grow strong.
不安があるから強くなるし

I don’t tell anyone about us,
二人のこと誰にも言わない

Because I am not a child.
子供じゃないんだから

It’s not a road that keeps on going forever.
どこまでも続く道じゃない

But when it ends, it’s fine to choose another.
だったら他を選べばいいのに

It’s a funnry story. Even if I get hurt, I’m back for more.
笑える話  傷つけられても I’m back for more

Maybe I’m addicted to you.
君に addicted かも

It doesn’t mean that just because I can’t see you I would die.
会えない から って 死ぬ わけじゃない し

I understand our mutual circumstances.
お互い【おたがい】の 事情【じじょう】 分かってる

But in that situation it is painful and I want to see you every day.
※だけど それじゃ 苦しくて毎日会いたくて

With these feelings, what should I do?
この気持ちどうすればいいの

I want to be an adult now…. I can’t become one instantly.
今 おとなに なりたくて いきなり なれなくて

Maybe I am addicted to you.
oh baby (oh baby)君に addictedかも※

There isn’t really a reason to demand things of each other.
求め合う理由なんて無い

One’s affairs should be in order.
キレイ事も必要さ

In the middle of the night, my calls go right to voicemail.
留守電(るすでん)になってる夜中

I want to call one more time just to hear the message.
メッセージ聞きにもう一度かけたい

I’m in love with you.
I know you want me too.

It’s not because I can’t say it that I don’t say it.
言えない から 言わない ん じゃない

It’s a sad story. Every time I am doubted, I love you more.
泣けるストーリー 疑われる(うたがう) 度に I love you more

Maybe I’m addicted to you.
君にaddicted かも

The excuses of everyone around are similar
まわりの みんなも 言い訳は 似てる

They feel reasons are necessary.
理由が必要だって思ってる

But then, it is painful and I want to see you every day.
だけど それじゃ 苦しくて毎日会いたくて

Is it okay to convey these feelings?
この気持ち伝えてもいいの?

Hold me, don’t just kiss me, don’t suddenly stop.

キスより抱きしめて いきなり やめないで

Oh baby, oh baby, maybe I am addicted to you.
oh baby, oh baby 君に addicted かも

The yearning on a day we can’t meet, and the feeling  I get when I am near you,
会えない日の恋しさも  側【そば】にいる  愛しさも

Become equally common.
同じくらい  クセになるんだ

Hold me, don’t just kiss me, don’t suddenly stop.
キスより抱きしめていきなりやめないで
oh baby (oh baby)

(※くり返し)

Hold me more than kiss me, don’t suddenly stop.
キスより抱きしめていきなりやめないで
oh baby (oh baby)
I think I’m addicted to you

****

Hope this was interesting for you. Have a great weekend!

Cheers,
Justin
My 3D Store | Alpha Six – Crazy antics of star-crossed lovers…in space! 

Leave a Reply

